I was suggesting to a friend the other day that she should have a will.  Like many people, she was resistant.  Then I pointed out that if she died without one, a lot of her money would go to the courts and the government.  That got her attention.

The other candidates in this election seem to think that it’s about a choice between Big Government, telling everyone what to do and regulating people to death and Free Enterprise that will return us to the days of child labor, sweat shops (yes, I know they still exist) and no health insurance.  When did everything become so polarized?

Personally, I think we should have a constitutional monarchy.  I’ve been practicing my queen wave.  Somehow I don’t think that’s going to be an option, darn.

However, what fascinates me is how many of us have forgotten the preamble to the Constitution.   The whole point of our republican democracy is that the people decide things.

 WE ARE THE GOVERNMENT.

 So, if we don’t like the way things are going, we can get rid of the bums without resorting to riots or siege warfare.   We can also convince the people we elect to change their views.  One of the few things I like about Republican Rome is that no one could run the Senate for more than two years.  (Bread and circuses were nice, too.  I suppose they were the equivalent of Food Stamps and NPR, both of which may be on their way out.)

I have lots more opinions for my platform but I’m overwhelmed by the rest of the media.  One thing I’ve decided to change is the much beloved Grammar Police.  I always felt it was a bit too authoritarian and I don’t want to live in a dictatorship, even if I’m in charge.  A friend suggested another term, “lifeguard”.  I like that.  Adults, especially those on news programs and other media, may need a strong hand but wouldn’t it be lovely to have a group of people spreading across the country to schools, meeting rooms, offices, even bars, ready to save those who fall into verbal confusion?

If you don’t vote for me, vote for the establishment of the Grammar Lifeguards!

Thank you for your support.

